A letter about Depression: Shutting down and Disappearing

20170701_192207

To my family and friends:

I’m sorry I disappear. Sometimes I disappear physically; not bothering to keep in touch and sometimes emotionally; I shut down to cope with being unwell. I do this to an extent to protect myself. I don’t want to be judged or rejected for who I am.

Unpredictable tendencies have shrouded my adult life. If you have spent a considerable amount of time with me you may just have noticed. One week I can be full of energy and enthusiasm , ideas and creativity flow easily. I don’t want help from anyone because I feel that I can do anything and everything. I may talk incessantly and very quickly. I may make jokes and comments that are confusing and might only make sense to me.

At times I can become very depressed. I don’t mean that as if others describe it; as having a rough day, a down day, feeling fed up. It may last days or it may last for months, I can never tell. That only thing I know is that suddenly I can no longer function as I used to. All my energy and enthusiasm has gone. I will feel numb and become difficult to talk to. I don’t want to see anyone or go anywhere. I can feel overwhelmed with the idea of talking to people, to the point of crying uncontrollably.

When I’m low I shut down and my concentration wanders. I’m not being rude when I don’t respond to what you say, or take weeks to reply to a message. I simply can’t interact socially; I can barely get out of bed.

Sometimes you may feel you need to tread carefully with me. I can be overly sensitive, irritable or just aggressive. I know that this can be frustrating, it is for me. I have never liked the term ‘treading on eggshells.’ The idea that people I care about feel they can’t act naturally around me is upsetting. If you feel you can’t, then let me know; it might help us both feel more comfortable in each others company.

I have always found it difficult to keep in contact with friends and extended family. I don’t want to use it as an excuse but I think my illness is one of the main reasons for this.  If I have lost contact I wasn’t trying to be rude or standoffish I was merely trying to feel healthy again, to be on a level kilter for a change.

I will never apologise for being honest about having Bipolar. It needs to be talked about and I can’t be around people that are uncomfortable or disagree with this notion. I may lose friends, but I’m ok with that. People are too often happy to live their lives in denial, pretending everything is as perfect as their Facebook page. I will never be like that.

I hope we can stay in touch, and that my openness about my illness has helped you understand why I sometimes act the way I do.

12 thoughts on “A letter about Depression: Shutting down and Disappearing

  1. ehop5230

    Wow I relate to every word of this! I have never been diagnosed with bipolar, just depression and anxiety but have wondered a long time if I was bipolar. Thank you for this.

    Like

  2. Deserae

    Thank you for sharing. I have recently pulled away from my extended family…because I use to be the oldest sibling that had helped out and cared for my younger siblings….I was diagnosed with bipolar 12 years ago and all that changed . My sister’s and dad use my mental illness as a scapegoat…there aren’t apologies that come from them. I’m fact when I have mishandled an issue and recognized it and apologized the responses I get are…well it’s good that you recognize when you make mistakes. I’m treated like I’m the only one that makes mistakes. I am no longer treated well. I’m gossiped about and judged and it hurts. When my sister learned she had lupus, I was researching and learning as much as I could…that is not the case with my mental illness.

    Feeling Rejection

    Like

    1. Katie Conibear

      Sometimes it’s best to walk away from people, if they refuse to even try and understand. I hope you other family and friends that you can rely on.

      Like

  3. alexander blades

    Thank you for writing this. I often find myself reading such things and saying “well that sort applies to me but not entirely” and I’m subsequently left feeling as if I’m alone and unquantifiable. I could’ve written this myself (albeit with less poise and heart) and it warms to know that I’m not alone in the way if which I process and cope. Thank you and please keep up the good work

    Like

  4. Brian Dick

    I struggle with understanding how to deal with this my gf is going through this the hardest part is when she distance herself and doesn’t want to talk I try to help but I don’t know how to help any ideas besides being patient with her.

    Like

  5. Ann Marie DiStefano

    I am laying here crying because I was searching the web for answers to why I am not the way that I am.
    You explained myself so accurately.
    Thank you so much..
    Stay well

    Like

Leave a Reply